Sunday, January 12, 2014

The cleanse end!

Finally! Today is day 7 of my veggie cleanse! It has certainly been a week of ups and downs. It's made me even more aware of how bad my food addiction is. I'm so glad I did this for several reasons:

1. I proved to myself that I CAN accomplish anything if I put my mind to it and keep the end game in mind. I usually find a great diet I 'put my mind to' and a week later or less I'm over it. Although this was only over a weeks period its the most dedicated I've ever been.

2. I feel so much better physically! I was skeptical about people saying how they actually did feel better. I thought, well I'm putting less into my body-I'm going to feel so tired! Negative, I feel great. I don't feel so sluggish. I will say the one cup of joe a day isn't for me but I did it. (I'm a coffee junkie so this part felt like it was going to be impossible) I'm not so bloated from eating all of the junk I used to, so I feel more comfortable.

3. My hopes are that this sets me up in the right direction for the actual diet part that comes next (tomorrow morning). As I already said, this was an emotional week for me, why pick my bad habits back up and leave this week all for nothing? I think proving to myself that I could accomplish this detox helps me to believe that instead of viewing this is a fad diet like I usually do, I'll see it as a new lifestyle.  I just need to keep myself motivated and focused.

I remember my friends who've done this detox saying that it got better after day 3, they lied. I struggled through the entire detox. Mind you, I'm a server at Texas Roadhouse and my boyfriend ate frozen pizzas and McDonald's the whole week in front of me so I was surrounded by all of my favorite artery clogging foods. -Which I honestly feel was necessary for me to feel so accomplished. I didn't give in to temptation and I couldn't be any more proud of myself for that alone. Typically, I'm the first one to say I don't feel like making dinner so lets just go grab McDonald's or head out to half off apps at Applebees. I got myself much more acquainted in the kitchen making myself veggie meals. Speaking of, I'll share the recipe that got me by this week. The other girls said they made vegetable soup and ate that most of the week. I attempted that, had 2 bowls and couldn't even stomach smelling it after that. -Thankfully Chris loved it so we didn't have much to waste. I found my love for stir fry-the healthy way!

My TLS coach told me that if after day 3, I felt it was necessary, I could add about 4 oz of lean protein into my dinner meal. (Day 2 I made this without chicken). I can't use oils in this cleanse so I picked up some low-sodium chicken broth as my 'sauteing juice' so to say. I put a little garlic and broth in the pan and heated that up on medium heat until the garlic was browning a bit. I diced up some organic chicken, sprinkled it with Cayenne and let it cook in the pan with a couple dashes of low-sodium soy sauce (that was ok'd by my coach as well). When the chicken was about 3/4 done I started another pan with some chicken broth and sliced green and red peppers and onion. I cooked those for about 5 minutes and added in some squash and zucchini with a little more soy sauce. It was probably 20 minutes cook time total and probably an additional 20 minute prep time but it was delicious! I let Chris have a bite and he admitted that he would've rather had that than the pizza he was munching away on. It is a bit spicy, but that can be adjusted with the amount of cayenne used-or you can just use pepper if you prefer.

I'll reveal the final results tomorrow if I find the time to actually sit down and blog but I can tell you it'll be around 10 pounds. As of this morning, I was down 8 lbs so it'll be similar to that give or take a pound or two.

^This is it in case anybody is wondering what it is I'm doing :)

No comments:

Post a Comment